Resources & Information

Oct 31 2023

NCMB leadership team for 2023-2024

Comments:   comments  Print Friendly Version  |   Share this item
picture of Dr. Christine Khandelwal
Dr. Khandelwal
At its July Board Meeting, NCMB elected officers for the budget and program year beginning Nov. 1 and ending Oct. 31, 2024. In accordance with NCMB bylaws, Christine M. Khandelwal, DO, MHPE, of Apex assumed the role of President effective Nov. 1. The Board unanimously voted to elect its Executive Committee members, which include the offices of President-elect, Secretary/Treasurer, and two At-large members.

President - Christine M. Khandelwal, DO, MHPE

Dr. Khandelwal is a Professor of Family Medicine and Director of Geriatrics and Palliative Medicine with the Campbell University School of Osteopathic Medicine. She is Boarded in both Geriatrics and Hospice and Palliative Medicine, serving in Harnett County within the Cape Fear Valley Hospital System. Previously, she was a practicing palliative care and hospice physician and the VP of Education and Outreach at Transitions Life Care in Raleigh. Dr. Khandelwal earned her doctor of osteopathy at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine in Pennsylvania and completed residency training in family practice at University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, St. Margaret Hospital in Pittsburgh.

President-elect - Devdutta G. Sangvai, MD

Dr. Sangvai is Family Physician from Durham and is President of Duke Regional Hospital. He is professor of family medicine, pediatrics, and psychiatry at the Duke University School of Medicine and professor in the Program in Education at Duke University. Dr. Sangvai graduated from The Ohio State University and received his medical degree from the Medical College of Ohio, where he also completed postgraduate training in family medicine. Dr. Sangvai earned his Master of Business Administration from Duke’s Fuqua School of Business.

Secretary/Treasurer - Anuradha Rao-Patel, MD

Dr. Rao-Patel is Associate Vice-President and Senior Medical Director for Government Markets at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina (Blue Cross NC). In that role, she serves as the primary interface between Blue Cross NC and its clinical partners and is responsible for medical management and clinical strategy for government programs. Dr. Rao-Patel attended medical school at Louisiana State University and completed an internship in Internal Medicine at Earl K. Long Hospital in Baton Rouge and a residency in Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Sinai Hospital in Baltimore.

Executive Committee Member at-Large - W. Howard Hall, MD

Dr. Hall currently practices gynecology with Blue Ridge Women’s Care in Morganton, after more than two decades of busy OB/GYN practice. He earned his medical degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and completed postgraduate training in OB/GYN at Greenville Hospital System in Greenville, SC. Since becoming part of Carolinas Healthcare System - Blue Ridge, Dr. Hall has held numerous leadership positions within the system, including President of the Medical Staff. In addition, he is a past President of the Piedmont OB/GYN Society in Hickory.

Executive Committee Member at-Large - William “Bill” M. Brawley

Mr. Brawley served four terms as the Representative for District 103 in the North Carolina House. He held several chairmanships during his service including Senior Co-Chair of the House Finance Committee and Vice-Chairman of the Appropriations Committee. He has previously served two terms as a Commissioner for the Town of Matthews and served 11 years as an appointed Park Commissioner for Mecklenburg County. Mr. Brawley is a native of North Carolina who grew up in Charlotte.

 No Comments on this article

 Post a comment on this article
Please do not include links to external websites in your comment. Please limit comments to no more than 300 words. The NCMB reserves the right to edit comments to meet the length limit. Abusive or profane remarks and personal attacks will not be published. The editor will make every effort to review and post comments in a timely fashion.