Resources & Information


Accolades for two of NCMB’s own

Two NCMB leaders, one former and one current, won national honors during FSMB’s annual meeting in Charlotte in late April.

Lifetime Achievement Award – Bryant Galusha, MD
Dr. Galusha, a Charlotte pediatrician who served 12 years on NCMB, was recognized with FSMB’s highest honor. This award is presented on rare occasions to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary and sustained service and commitment to the field of medical licensure and discipline.

Dr. Galusha, a former longtime Director of Medical Education for Charlotte Memorial Hospital, began his service in medical regulation on the North Carolina Medical Board, to which he was appointed in 1968. Dr. Galusha went on to serve as President of FSMB and, upon completing his term, took the top staff position with FSMB, serving as President and CEO from 1984 until 1989. Dr. Galusha laid the early groundwork that culminated in the United States Medical Licensing Examination. He led a major initiative to computerize FSMB’s records and establish a database of disciplinary actions that medical boards could remotely query, which exists today as FSMB’s Board Action Data Bank.

Congratulations to a true luminary in medical regulation!

FSMB Distinguished Service Award – R. David Henderson, JD
This award recognizes the highest level of service and commitment to FSMB, advancement of the profession of medical regulation, and the strengthening of public protection. Mr. Henderson, NCMB’s current CEO, has strongly supported FSMB’s mission for many years, making key contributions through his service on the Special Committee on Strategic Positioning, the Committee to Examine the Composite Action Index, the Advisory Council of Board Executives, and the Workgroup on Education About Medical Regulation. He also supported the United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) program through his service as a chair and member of the USMLE Committee on Individualized Review.

Mr. Henderson also has made many contributions to the medical regulatory community as a member of Administrators in Medicine, providing vital leadership to the organization as its Treasurer since 2014. Congratulations!