Resources & Information


Governor fills three NCMB seats

The NC Medical Board has announced Governor Perdue recently named Dr. Ralph C. Loomis, of Asheville, as a physician member of the Board. In addition, the Governor reappointed Peggy R. Robinson, PA-C, of Durham, and Pamela Blizzard, of Raleigh. Their three-year terms began Nov 1.

Ralph C. Loomis, MD
Dr. Loomis took his undergraduate degree at Vanderbilt University, and his MD degree from Indiana University. He did his internship at Indiana and his residency in neurosurgery at the same institution.

Appointed to the Board in 2005, Dr. Loomis completed a three-year term in 2008. He serves on the Disciplinary, Licensing and Policy Committees. He has served as treasurer and secretary and was appointed to the Bylaws Committee of the Federation of State Medical Boards (2007-2010).

He practices at the Carolina Spine and Neurosurgery Center in Asheville, NC.

Peggy R. Robinson, PA-C
Ms. Robinson earned a BS degree in biology from Springfield College, in Springfield, MA. She attended the Medical College of Virginia, where she received a master of science in microbiology. In 1992, she earned a master of health science and certificate of completion from Duke University School of Medicine’s Physician Assistant Program in Durham, NC.

Ms. Robinson serves in the PA Program at Duke as an assistant professor in the Department of Community and Family Medicine. She has served on the Board's Allied Health, Continued Competence and Review Committees. She continues to serve on these committees, and is chair of the Continued Competence and Allied Health Committees.

Pamela Blizzard, Public Member
Pamela Blizzard earned her bachelor's degree in urban studies from Brown University in Providence, RI, and her MBA in marketing and finance from the University of Santa Clara in Santa Clara, CA.

She currently serves as executive director and founder of the Contemporary Science Center in Research Triangle Park, NC, where she established and now directs its science education non-profit program. She serves on the Board's Disciplinary, Licensing and Best Practices Committees.