Licensure

Full Applications for Physician Assistants

All physician assistants must receive a license from the Board prior to practicing medicine in NC. There are several pathways to licensure. Click “learn more” to access applications and to determine which pathway best suits your needs before applying.

Application for a full PA license

This application is the most widely used pathway for obtaining a license to practice medicine in North Carolina.

Who should complete this application?

Physician assistants who DO NOT have a completed FCVS profile.

Show More 

Click on the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants are required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted online.

Intent to Practice
Applicants must complete their application and have been issued a license to practice in North Carolina before they can complete the PA Intent to Practice form.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued. A renewal fee is required.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The Application Checklist (download, at right) outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. Failure to submit required information may result in delays. 

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee. Click here to access the current license application fee schedule.


Application for a full PA license (expedited)

Who should complete this application?

Only those physician assistants who meet specific criteria may complete the expedited license application. A physician assistant must meet ALL FOUR of the requirements outlined below to apply.

1.  Currently certified by NCCPA;
2.  Currently holds a full unrestricted active license in one other state, or the District of Columbia, or a U.S. Territory or Canadian province for the previous five years immediately preceding the application;
3.  Have been active in clinical practice providing patient care for an average of 20 hours or more per week for the last two years;
4.  Have a clean license application (Click “Show More” for details)


If the Board determines, upon receipt of the application, that the applicant does not qualify, the applicant will need to notify the Board in writing requesting withdrawal of the application and a refund if payment was made.

Show More 

Click the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants may be required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted on line.

Please view the checklist at right. It is designed to help you manage application requirements.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued. A renewal fee is required.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The Application Checklist (download, at right) outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. If you do not meet ALL FOUR of the requirements stated in the “Who Should Complete” for the expedited license application, you are not eligible and must complete the full license for physician assistant’s application.

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee. Click here to access the current license application fee schedule.


Application for a full PA license using FCVS

What is FCVS?
The Federation Credentials Verification Service (FCVS) is the nation’s most comprehensive system of verifying and storing credentials. FCVS provides a uniform process for state medical boards to obtain a verified, primary source record of a physician assistant’s core medical credentials.

Establishing an FCVS profile takes several months. Applicants are encouraged to complete their FCVS applications six months before they need their FCVS profile submitted to the state medical board for licensure.

Who should complete this application?

Physician assistant applicants who have a completed FCVS profile must use this application.

Show More 

Click the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants may be required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted online.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physicians to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued. A renewal fee is required.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The Application Checklist (download, at right) outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. Failure to submit required information may result in delays.

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee. Click here to access the current license application fee schedule.


Application for a Reactivation of PA license

Who should complete this application?

Physician Assistants are eligible to reactivate their license if they have had a license in NC, the license has been placed on inactive status within the past calendar year, and the inactive status is not a result of disciplinary action.

Show More 

Click on the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants are required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted online.

Intent to Practice

PA Applicants must complete their application and have been issued a PA license to practice in North Carolina before they can complete the PA Intent to Practice form.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued. A renewal fee is required.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The Application Checklist (download, at right) outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. Failure to submit required information may result in delays.

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee. Click here to access the current license application fee schedule.


Application for a Reinstatement of PA License

Who should complete this application?

Physician Assistants are eligible to reinstate their license if their license has been inactive more than one calendar year and/or the license has been inactive as a result of disciplinary action.

Show More 

Click on the “Online Application” button at right. Applicants are required to submit certain paper documents to supplement the online application. The NCMB only accepts applications submitted online.

Intent to Practice

PA applicants must complete their application and have been issued a PA license to practice in North Carolina before they can complete the PA Intent to Practice Form.

Renewal requirements

NC law requires licensed physician assistants to renew with the Board within 30 days of their birth date, every year, no matter when the license is issued. A renewal fee is required.

Am I eligible for licensure in North Carolina?

The Application Checklist (download, at right) outlines the necessary requirements for licensure. Failure to submit required information may result in delays.

Application credentials and fee are good for one year. If the applicant is not issued a license within the year and chooses to reapply, he or she will be required to resubmit all application credentials and an additional application fee. Click here to access the current license application fee schedule.