This is my very first renewal. How do I enter my CME?
Click “exempt” on your first renewal after licensure. Your three-year CME cycle starts the first birthday following initial licensure date and runs for three years.
Is it okay to complete my license renewal online using a mobile device?
No, it is not recommended. Mobile devices are not supported at this time.
How do I get a copy of my receipt and certificate after renewing?
There will be three attachments included with the e-mail:
- The new license certificate
- The receipt of payment
- A copy of the confirmation page from the renewal with your answers to the online questions that you can save in your files.
The receipt and certificate are .pdf files and you will need Adobe Reader (a free program) to open it. Your wallet card is part of the certificate, so you can print it out and carry the card with you.
If you do not receive your certificate or receipt after 24 hours, you can print a duplicate copy from the NCMB website here. Follow prompts to enter your File ID #and DOB to log in. You will be able to click on either the certificate or receipt to print off the screen.
Is there a grace period to renew my RTL?
NCMB policy allows a 30-day grace period, however, Residents must check with their training institution since their requirements may be different from the NC Medical Board’s policy.
Where can I view my current CME hours?
If I’m applying for a full license, do I still need to register my training license?
Yes. North Carolina law requires that physicians register their license within thirty days of their birthday each year.
How do I make my license inactive and what does that mean in NC?
ALL licensees are strongly urged to understand the implications of going inactive, because once you go “inactive” in NC you no longer have a license.
In the future, if you want to practice in NC you will have to reapply using the reinstatement or reactivation application on our website http://www.ncmedboard.org under Licensing section.
NOTE: While inactive, if there has been an interruption in the continuous, clinical practice of medicine in any state greater than two (2) years, the applicant must re-establish his or her competence to practice medicine safely to the Board’s satisfaction. Click here to read the Board’s position on re-entering the practice of medicine.
Why won’t the online renewal form accept my CME entries?
CME hours must be reported in a certain way for the database to recognize them. Use only whole numbers (no decimals) when entering your CME hours. Do not add any additional text. Remember to “update” the chart after you enter your CME hours.
I am trying to indicate hospital privileges, but my NC hospital is not among the available choices.
Our list of hospitals comes from the NCHA Membership list located here: www.NCHA.org.
I live out of state and cannot enter my hospital privileges
Only North Carolina Hospitals are required to be listed.
I live out of state. Why can’t I enter my county?
Only North Carolina counties are required to be listed.
How long does it take to process a license renewal?
Online renewals are processed immediately after your Payment says “transaction approved”. You can verify that your renewal went through by simply going to “Look Up a Licensee” on the Board’s website. Enter your last name and first name only and then search. Find your name that is underlined and click on it for the details page. If the “annual renewal” date has been updated your registration has successfully gone through.
I am a licensee and I am going out of the country for a year. May I renew my license early?
Yes, but if it is more than 60 days before your next birthday, you must contact the renewal department.
I failed to renew my license on time. Is my license made inactive immediately?
No. If you have not registered on time, a late fee is added 30 days after your renewal date and a certified letter will be sent to your mailing address on file with the Board. You will have an additional 30 days from the date of receipt of this letter to renew. If your renewal has not been completed online within this time period, your license will be placed on inactive status. Please note: It is unlawful to practice with an inactive license.
I just received my medical license and my birthday is next week. Do I have to renew my license?
Yes. All active licensees in NC must register their license by their renewal date (which is their birthday). This requirement applies even if the license is issued shortly before the birthday. The licensee must pay the annual renewal fee yearly even though they have paid the application fee to get the license.