Resources & Information

Oct 27 2011

Officers chosen to lead Medical Board in 2012

 Categories:  Announcements Comments:   comments  Print Friendly Version  |   Share this item
The NC Medical Board has seated its Board officers for the coming year. Ralph C. Loomis, MD, of Asheville, NC, will serve as president; William A. Walker, MD, of Charlotte will serve as president elect and Karen Gerancher, MD, of Winston-Salem will act as secretary/treasurer. Terms run from November 1, 2011-October 31, 2012.

Ralph C. Loomis, MD, President
Dr. Loomis took his undergraduate degree, cum laude, at Vanderbilt University, and his MD degree from Indiana University. He did his internship at Indiana and his residency in neurosurgery at the same institution. He also took the Theodore Gildred Microsurgical Course and was coauthor of an article in the Annals of Surgery.

Dr. Loomis is certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He represents the neurosurgery section of Mission Hospitals in the level II trauma section of the western region of North Carolina and is past chief of surgery for Mission Hospitals.

Dr. Loomis has served on the Reentry, Executive, Best Practices and Complaint/Malpractice committees and on the CPP Joint Subcommittee. He was chair of the Licensing, Disciplinary and Joint Pharmacy/Medical Board committees. He also served as the Board’s treasurer and secretary. Dr. Loomis was appointed to serve on the Bylaws Committee of the Federation of State Medical Boards from 2007-2010 and became chair of the committee for 2010-2011.

He practices at the Carolina Spine and Neurosurgery Center in Asheville, NC.

William A. Walker, MD, President Elect
William A. Walker, MD, earned his BA in chemistry and psychology and his MD from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He completed his internship and residency training in general surgery at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. He also completed a fellowship in colon and rectal surgery at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

Throughout his career, he served in a number of administrative and profes-sional positions. He currently serves on the North Carolina Medical Society’s Quality of Care and Performance Improvement Committee. He is immediate past chief of staff at Presbyterian Hospital, in Charlotte, and president of Charlotte Colon and Rectal Surgery Associates. In 2009- 2011, Dr. Walker served on the Editorial Committee of the Federation of State Medical Boards, and now serves on the FSMB’s Audit Committee.

Dr. Walker is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons and the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons. He has coauthored numerous publications and given presentations across the United States.

Dr. Walker was appointed to the Board in 2007. He chairs the Disciplinary Committee and serves on the Executive and Allied Health Committees.

Karen Gerancher, MD, Secretary/Treasurer
Karen Gerancher, MD, graduated from Florida State University summa cum laude, earning a BS in biology. After studying Art and Italian language in Florence, Italy, she earned a graduate certificate, masters in biology/genetics from the University of Birmingham, United Kingdom, and her MD from the University of Florida College of Medicine. She completed her residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at Bowman Gray School of Medicine in Winston-Salem, NC.

Dr. Gerancher currently serves as medical director for the Forsyth County Health Department’s Family Planning Clinic. She is assistant professor, section head of gynecology and residency program director for the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at Wake Forest University School of Medicine.

Dr. Gerancher is a fellow of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists. She also participates in the Committee for Improvement of OB/GYN Patient Care in the Emergency Department at Forsyth Medical Center.

Dr. Gerancher is board certified by the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and is active in the maintenance of certification process. She was appointed to the NCMB in 2010 and serves on the Disciplinary and Licensing Committees.

View Board member photos.

 No Comments on this article

 Post a comment on this article
Please do not include links to external websites in your comment. Please limit comments to no more than 300 words. The NCMB reserves the right to edit comments to meet the length limit. Abusive or profane remarks and personal attacks will not be published. The editor will make every effort to review and post comments in a timely fashion.