Resources & Information

Feb 1 2011

Governor fills five Board seats

 Categories:  Announcements Comments:   comments  Print Friendly Version  |   Share this item
The North Carolina Medical Board has announced the appointment of Eleanor E. Greene, MD, MPH, of High Point, NC, to the Board. In addition, Gov Perdue has reappointed Janice E. Huff, MD, of Charlotte (see bio pg. 3); William A. Walker, MD, of Charlotte; Thomas R. Hill, MD, of Hickory and John B. Lewis, LLB, of Farmville, to the Board. All five Board members will serve three year terms spanning Nov. 1, 2010-Oct. 31, 2013.

Eleanor E. Greene, MD, of High Point, earned a BS degree in medical technology from the former Bowman Gray School of Medicine (now Wake Forest University School of Medicine) in Winston-Salem, NC. She received her MD and a Master of Public Health in Maternal and Child Health from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, and completed residency in obstetrics and gynecology at Ohio State University in Columbus, OH. She currently practices with Moses Cone Affiliated Physicians, Triad Women’s Center, PA, in High Point.

Dr. Greene is a member of the NC Medical Society, Doctors for America, NC Obstetrics and Gynecology Society, and the National Medical Association, where she serves on the Board of Directors, Finance and Health Policy Committees. She serves on the Piedmont Health Services and Sickle Cell Agency, and on the North Carolina Advisory Committee on Cancer Coordination and Control. Dr. Greene is past president of the Old North State Medical Society, and continues to serve on its current Executive Committee. She is a fellow of the American College of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Dr. Greene is the first physician from High Point, NC, and the first African American female physician to serve on the Board.

William A. Walker, MD, of Charlotte, earned his BA in chemistry and psychology and his MD from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. He completed his internship and residency training in general surgery at the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor. He also completed a fellowship in colon and rectal surgery at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis.

Dr. Walker practices at Charlotte Colon and Rectal Surgery Associates, where he is also president. He currently serves on the Surgical Specialties Quality Improvement Committee at Mercy Hospital, and is past chief of staff at Presbyterian Hospital.

Dr. Walker was appointed to the Board in 2007. He currently serves as the Board’s secretary/treasurer.

Thomas R. Hill, MD, of Hickory, earned his BS degree in athletic training and his MS degree in exercise physiology from Pennsylvania State University’s College of Health and Physical Education. He went on to complete the PA program, earning a BS degree, at Hahnemann University’s College of Allied Health Professions in Philadelphia. He earned his MD from what is now Wake Forest University School of Medicine in Winston-Salem. He completed an internship in internal medicine at New Hanover Regional Medical Center in Wilmington, NC, and residency and fellowship training in anesthesiology at Massachusetts.

Dr. Hill currently practices at Western Piedmont Anesthesia, PA, in Hickory, NC. He also serves as a clinical assistant professor in the Department of Anesthesiology and Critical Care Medicine at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center in Winston-Salem.

Dr. Hill was appointed to the Board in 2007.

John B. Lewis, Jr., LLB, graduated from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill with a BS in history. He took his law degree from the University of North Carolina School of Law.

Judge Lewis’s distinguished legal career includes practicing law in Farmville for 16 years and serving as town attorney for Farmville, Fountain, and Hookerton for 12 of those years; being a Special Superior Court judge for six years and serving on the NC Court of Appeals for 11 years. He is currently a Court of Appeals recall judge, a temporary administrative law judge and an emergency Special Superior Court judge. Among his many other activities and responsibilities, he has been chair of the North Carolina Property Tax Commission and the Judicial Standards Commission, a member of the North Carolina Sentencing Commission and the Rules Review Commission.

Judge Lewis was appointed as a public member to the Board in 2006.

 No Comments on this article

 Post a comment on this article
Please do not include links to external websites in your comment. Please limit comments to no more than 300 words. The NCMB reserves the right to edit comments to meet the length limit. Abusive or profane remarks and personal attacks will not be published. The editor will make every effort to review and post comments in a timely fashion.